Pressplaymedia’s Blog

Top 10 sites to check for design inspiration

Posted on: November 6, 2007

When I’m creating or redesigning a website, I usually take some time to crawl around the web and seek out sites that fit in the same category for ideas, or just check out the newest sites on various top-lists for innovative approaches. Besides checking out my favourite designers’ portfolios for latest creations, these are the bookmarks that never let me down:

My top 10 sites for inspiration

I’m pretty confident you’ll bookmark at least a few of these, as they are awesome resources for cool new websites:

1. TheFWA
TheFWA
The Favourite Website Awards (web awards at the cutting edge) is my primary source for finding new web design techniques, and modern / abstract design ideas.

2. DopeAwards
Dope Awards

A great resource for cool flash sites, which are sorted in four groups: Dynamic, Original, Professional and Effort.

3. BestWebGallery
BestWebGallery

A nicely designed site listing nice designs.. What more can you want?

4. TheBestDesigns
TheBestDesigns

A good resource for interesting CSS and Flash sites.

5. WebsiteDesignAwards
WDA

Regularly updated site for progressive CSS and Flash designed websites.

6. CSS-Designed
CSS Designed

Daily updated gallery showcasing beautiful CSS designed websites.

7. CSS Artillery
CSS Artillery

Another showcase of inspirational CSS-based sites.

8. LightOnDark
LightOnDark

I love dark designs and this site is all about those! A feast for my darker side if you will..

9. FaveUp
FaveUp

A very nice site, not only listing cool CSS and Flash sites, but other designs like logos and business cards as well, a useful resource indeed.

10. TemplateMonster
TemplateMonster

Although I never base my designs off templates, the designers at TemplateMonster have a touch for keeping things clean and simple, so I check out their new designs from time to time

And then some

Other inspirational sites I check out often:

WebCreme
DesignSnips
CSS Zen Garden
DesignCharts
DesignInEurope
DesignMeltdown

Xhilarate
DesignSnack
ScreenFluent
PurePleasureDesign Blog
TheWebAward Highest Rated
CSS Elite
WakeUpGallery
Kool Sites @ Kirupa

The last one is a plug for Kirupa.com, one of my favourite resources for tutorials, their forums have a great community of designers, so I usually check out their favourites too.

That’s it for now..

With these links you should be able to find some pretty awesome sites for fresh ideas. But remember, professional designers don’t have to look for inspiration outside, they just have to look inside 😉

Happy browsing!

And if you think a great site is missing on my list, let me know by leaving comments / feedback!

3 Responses to "Top 10 sites to check for design inspiration"

Thanks for featuring CSS Designed!

Thank you for listing my blog! 😉

Leave a comment